Godspeed, travel well…

You get a strange feeling when you’re about to leave a place. Like you’ll not only miss the people you love but you’ll miss the person you are now at this time and this place, because you’ll never be this way ever again.

 

Today I started to sort out the ‘practical matters of leaving Denmark’.  I can’t believe my time here is coming to an end.  This is my last Danish summer.  I was granted the visa I needed to allow me to live and work in Australia from September, and I can’t believe its time to pack up everything into two suitcases and start all over again.

Starting over is cleansing.  It is refreshing to the soul.  The deep emotions felt when leaving a familiar place and entering a new one, swirl amongst memories had and memories yet to be made.  I like that the aspect of my ‘home’ has changed so many times and will continue to change in the  years of my life.  I like it because I have many places in this world that I feel at home.  I have friendships that will carry me over to the next place, with the hope of creating friendships that will last as long as my last ones.

It’s bittersweet to the point that is is unexplainable.  The mix of heavy heart and happy feelings mesh in such an unusual way.  It’s like the world is telling you that it will be alright.  Life goes on.  Nothing is static, fixed.  It all changes, and can change when you least expect it.  Change is good.  We all need to learn to embrace a little change.

 

Godspeed, travel well…

Leave a Reply

