Rantings from the musings

A little bit of a rant.

I really, really… REALLY cannot stress enough how many ill feelings arise when I hear the comment, “how do you do what you are doing?  I wish I could do that!”  (or something along those lines, you know what I mean).  Honestly, I’m stunned.  How am I doing what I am doing?  Because I love it.  Because I made the conscious choice every day to take action on what I want in this life.  That’s how.  Am I insanely rich?  no freaking way.  Do I travel a lot?  I would say yes, more then most my age, but do I have some glamorous job that allows me to travel the world?  No.  My glamorous job?  I’m a student. A student, who I might add, is stuck in the middle of her thesis and feels the anxiety slowly creeping in as each day towards deadline draws closer.  A student, who, lives in Denmark on a student visa, allowing me to work only 15 hours a week at my part time job at Starbucks.  Do I make a killing?  Hell no.  I just know where and how to make sacrifices, and thankfully all that organic food that the Danish people don’t purchase, ends up in a dumpster for me to loot through.  How glamorous is dumpster diving?  To be honest though, I haven’t gone through the dumpsters much lately… it’s getting warmer out now and the food items are starting to turn a lot more quickly.

But back to my rant.  What I am trying to say here is, IT IS YOUR LIFE.  If you aren’t happy with the way something is, then change it.  You are never ever stuck in something you don’t want to be a part of.  If you honesty think there is no way out, I feel sad for you.  If you think you are too fat, get off the couch and train your ass off at the gym.  If you hate your job, get another one.  If you want to travel the world, then GO AHEAD… get on the plane and never look back.  I can’t tell you the amount of people I have met on my travels who decided to do just that, and they are still doing it, 6, 7, 10 months later.   Sure they may dislike living in hostels, or have wicked blisters on their feet… but they are some of the happiest people I have ever met.  For me, having regrets isn’t part of my life plan.  The worst thing is this world is to have regrets.  I never want to be that person wishing I took that chance, or wondering how my life would have been if I had taken a different path.  Do everything and more in this life, you only get one.

I hate the comments people say, “Well, you are young, of course you are traveling…”  “It’s easier when you’re the age you are”…  “You don’t have real priorities”.  Excuse me, just stop right there.  When did turning 25, 30, 40, 50 put a limit on what you can achieve for your life.  Sure, it may be an easier time in my life right now in your opinion, but my problems are just as big as yours are and I deal with them on a regular basis.  Age, accomplishments, achievements, your job… they have nothing to do with your life.  Life is what you make of it and it really is quite an amazing journey… not some path you have to aimlessly wander down until your dead.

To change the topic, I just got back from a quick 2 day -city break- [a term I have coined for quick travels] in Paris.  I had quite the amazing time exploring the city with my roommate Sarah.  With no real plan in mind, we wandered curiously around the city of Paris, which might I add, is ridiculously huge.  I guess it came as a bit of a shock to me, and I really have gotten used to living in the small city of Copenhagen (population around 1 million compared to Paris’ 15 million). After the first day of seeing the many famous landmarks and buildings the parisian skyline has to offer followed by an evening of wine and cheese in the park– the wine was 2 euros, the cheese 3 and can I say, quite a meal!– we returned to our hostel worn out and ready for bed.  I quite liked where we stayed, this hostel offered POD beds, equipped with a privacy curtain, plugs and a reading light right in your little cubicle.  Under-the-bed storage that can be locked with your own lock offered a nice sense of security.  Free breakfast in the morning was also a plus, if not only for the morning tea/coffee.  The staff was overwhelmingly helpful and pleasant, and really helped make our stay a great one.  We flew home with Norwegian, and might I say the free wi-fi on board is quite an offering… I will definitely fly with them again.  I’ve also heard that offering wireless is cheaper than providing an individual entertainment system for each passenger… a win/win for everyone, since now-a-days everyone seems to have there own tablet or some mobile/video device.

I am anxiously waiting to get on my second travel to Australia this coming Tuesday.  I am working all the days leading up to it, including a 5 am morning shift the day I fly out (work 5-10 and leave at 12:30).  Thank goodness I work in the airport and can just go to my gate after I finish work.  I’ve already looked up a nice pay-use lounge in the Singapore Airport (which just won the worlds best airport award) that I will be purchasing for a nice hot shower and light refreshments after I finish that 13 hour flight.  I’ve been in the Singapore airport before, it really is an amazing place for a stopover.

Thesis is going well.  I am bringing my work down under with me to continue writing while Daryl has to go to his own 9-5.  It works out well though, no distractions for me during the day in sunny Oz.

That’s enough for tonight from this rambling mind.  Off to sleep for another early Starbucks start tomorrow.  Vi Ses.

 

Leave a Reply

