Danmark, jeg elsker dig

Being back in Denmark i’ve realized a couple things. I don’t know why I was having such a struggle last semester because being back here, in this place I was whining so much about reminds me of how incredibly happy I really am with my life here. Seeing my friends at work again, getting back into my barista grind and starting my last and final semester of grad school (which, I remind myself is what I worked so hard for in the beginning) is more than amazing and is really enough to keep me going. I have a renewed spirit this time around and I have made some resolutions to be a happier, healthier Caitlin. I have said there is no excuse for me to not cook my own meals, and bring them with me so I know what I am fueling my body with. I have slipped up a couple of times but for the most part I have been very good about cooking and finding new yummy sugar free things to eat. My new favorite foodblog is mynewroots.org and is actually a woman from the states who moved to Denmark! I feel like I can easily follow her recipes since I know she is using ingredients found here in this country. Celeriac is the ingredient that I am having a tough time finding but I just found it in Bilka the other day and I am excited to try out this recipe here.

I am very excited about getting started on my thesis, currently I am waiting to hear back about who my supervisor is and once we have that figured out and our first meeting, we can enter into our contract and officially start our thesis.  Until then I am doing limited amounts of research and reading up about how to write your thesis.  Thesis work for dummies pretty much.  ALso finalizing what exactly our research question will be.  We (I am writing my thesis with a friend) want it to be on Digital Media and Tourism, however that field is very broad and we are having a hard time honing in on exactly what we would like to research and write about for the next 6 months.  If all goes as planned I will turn in my thesis on August 17 and wait to hear back on the next steps:)

Back to the gym for me as well according to my new healthy lifestyle.  I’ve been aiming to go everyday and with that mindset I can usually go about 4-5 times a week.  With being on campus from 9-5 most days and working part time on the weekends, that is actually a reasonable goal and something within reach for me.  Im keeping myself busy happy and healthy and this is all resulting in a positive outlook:)

The days are starting to get longer, not warmer yet but having the sun not set around 3:00pm is absolutely wonderful.  I long for the never-ending days of summer where the sunsets at 11:00pm and rises again around 3:00am.  I look forward to enjoying my last summer here, before I move on to the next phase and adventure of my life, Australia.

Until next time readers.  

Much Love

Leave a Reply

