Vision without action is a daydream. Action without vision is a nightmare.

Acting upon something not completely thought out might get you exactly where you want to go, but it may take a while to get there.  I’ve always enjoyed the ride however.  Acting without vision is just reacting to life.  If you have no real vision, well then how can you say that you are truly living?

I was lucky enough to have a fabulous daydream turn into my reality.  I am now living and breathing every painfully wonderful breath my dream has brought me.  The experiences I’ve had during my 3 weeks in Copenhagen haven’t been the easiest to deal with.  They are new and hurtful and I wasn’t sure how to deal with them at first.

This past weekend I experienced a life so different, a world so far from what I’m used to in America that I have been jolted back to that initial feeling I had about Denmark.  Life is just different here.  I can’t really explain it any other way.

Tonight I must have had some sort of religious experience, only because I would have never dreamed of an event like this taking place in a church.  Imagine some very relaxed electronic beats, set to colorful moving fractals and shapes and images projected across the front of a church.  A gorgeous church that was probably built before America even existed.  Imagine yourself walking down the aisles only lit by candle light, trying not to step on any of the people curled up on mattresses with blankets and pillows across the floor of the church.  Try and just take all of that in.  It was so surreal to me; I’ve never seen anything like that.  And the music!  I can’t even begin to explain how amazing the music was.  The music in Copenhagen is really drawing me in.

I sat down in an empty pew at first, and sat in awe of the images and sounds I was hearing.  The show was stunning and I found myself immediately drawn to the sights and sounds.  I was instantly hooked!  I moved along with the generous beats for about an hour, and then moved to an open mattress on the floor.  Laying down while this light and music danced around me was another unusual experience, but one that I am glad I had.

I really don’t know how else to explain the show tonight.  It wasn’t weird in any sense, but remarkable somehow.  The lights and music dancing across the front of a cathedral is just beautiful.  Kerouac one said that the only truth is music. It’s beautiful really, how music can instantly change the way things are seen.  Bringing to life again memories long forgotten or jolted back to where you were that one special summer… you know the one.

I know I will never forget tonight, and when I close my eyes and remember my first church experience in Denmark, I’ll take comfort in knowing that I made the right choice moving here…for these very experiences.

Here is a poster for this weeks show and next weeks… which I will be attending!

Leave a Reply

