Listen to the language of nature

It is not the language of painters but the language of nature which one should listen to, the feeling for the things themselves, for reality is more important than the feeling for pictures.

Tonight I met the most interesting man.  He was the painter I had met yesterday while leaving Christiania.  His name is Marios Orozco and I had the pleasure to sit down and chat with him for a couple of hours tonight, Monday August 20th.  Have I told you my fascination with all humans in this world?  I guess it’s more of an appreciation for all types of people.  I feel in my heart that I am supposed to be some sort of teacher.  I look at every experience as something to learn and grow from; with human interaction at the top of the pyramid.  I feel completely comfortable asking people the question, “what is your passion in life and how do you sustain it?” I usually love the responses I get from everyone, but here in Denmark I have met some very down to earth people who lead fascinating lives.  Of course I think everyone I’m meeting right now is amazing and interesting, but I’ve never lived in a place where you can meet and interact with someone from a different country practically every hour.

On to Marios.  His story is quite interesting.  As far back as he can remember he has had a paintbrush in his hand.  He was accepted to a Boston Art school, but turned it down for a better place in the world.  Denmark.  Originally from America, he moved to Denmark when he was 19 years old.  He had heard about this place called Christiania through some of his friends who appreciated the true feeling of freedom that was to be found inside the colorful Christiania.   His mother is Danish so he had known a little bit of Christiania’s background before officially moving to Denmark.  Accepting the offer to live in a friend’s house for a month while he was vacationing to another country, he moved to Christiania.  He was drawn to the place immediately and had said that it was the first place that he had ever really felt home in.  When his friend returned a month later, Marios -having no where else to go- decided to set up camp in the fields and has been living there ever since.

This was 30 years ago. What a time the 70’s and 80’s must have been in the world.  I can’t even imagine how different it must have been, just picking up and moving to a different country and calling a tent in a field your home for an unknown period of time.  Crazy.  It was a different time.

Upon moving to Christiania he fell away from his artwork and focused on music.  He was in a local band for fun, which slowly turned into him producing his own work.  He stayed in the music industry for a while, and when his health began to start failing him changed his path in life, did some soul searching and found painting again.  This was about a year ago.  He is truly talented.  Marios hasn’t painted in nearly 30 years– yet his artwork shows years of experience.  His paintings convey perfectly the unique feeling experienced when walking around Christiania.  It is very tranquil walking around the grounds, over the canals and seeing the unique, colorful houses.  He paints with oil which gives his paintings the energetic flavor of Christiania.  I kept thinking, is there any better place for an artist than the beauty found in this place?

Talking with Marios was as easy as talking to a friend not seen in a while.  You know the ones I’m talking about… they have such interesting stories and experiences to share, its amazing when you realize that this is all that one single person has experienced in this life.  Marios shared his story with me so easily I had to stop myself from asking him question upon question upon question.  Again, I wanted to get home before dark, so after he practically gave me a tour of all the work in his studio (which I wish I could have photographed more of, but I didn’t want to be snapping too many pictures) I politely excused myself, thanking him greatly for sharing his time and his story with me.  He invited me back to sit with him any time.  I will definitely take him up on his offer.  He has had only one gallery show, but I hope he has another so I can take others to see his work.  I can’t wait to go back and hear more about the history of Christiania, and what it was like growing up there.  I think ill come up with more questions for next time, but I hate that interview-y feeling.  I love when experiences are warm and personal like the conversation we had tonight.

After that I rode my bike home throughout the city.  I still can’t believe that this is my city.  This wonderful place with these astonishing people, the history found on every turn and the bike culture that I just can’t seem to get enough of – it’s still warm though I have a feeling biking in the cold is a LOT different!  It was a very pleasant evening and I am so glad I got to end my day having met this truly impressive personality.

Pictures of his work can be found on his facebook, so go ahead and take a look if you are interested.  Posted below are some of the photo’s I was able to snap of his house and his work.

One thought on “Listen to the language of nature

  1. Pingback: Happy Birthday Christiania!! | kruegz

Leave a Reply

