The people you meet…

Life is about the people you meet, and the things you create with them so go out and start creating. Life is short. Live your dream and wear your passion.

This is your life. Do what you love, and do it often. If you don’t like something, change it. If you don’t like your job, quit. If you don’t have enough time, stop watching TV. If you are looking for the love of your life, stop; they will be waiting for you when you start doing things you love. All emotions are beautiful. Stop over analyzing, life is simple. When you eat, appreciate every last bite. Open your mind, arms and heart to new things and people, we are united in our differences. Ask the next person you see what their passion is and share your inspiring dream with them. Travel often; getting lost will help you find yourself. Some opportunities only come once, seize them.

 This was what I made my facebook status today and wow am I ever glad that it was.  I lived every moment fully today and I was rewarded so much by the beauty of the people in this world.  

 Lets just say today was perfect.  A short while after waking, Amy and I rode our bikes (a NEW & different way mind you) to get to the park of Copenhagen called Vesterbro, which used to be the meatpacking district in Copenhagen.  It has now changed into a hip and happening type place to be.   It was once known for its infamous red light district. Today it is one of the hippest places (this is also where I went to my new favorite bar, Jolene).  I think you can still find parts of an active red light district however.
Amy and I enjoyed our 40ish minute bike ride into the city.  We were going to a flea market.  We got a little lost, but having google maps helps a lost.  We turned around after realizing we had turned right.  Only a 2 minute detour, but

‘Travel often; getting lost will help you find yourself’ — we found our way and our friends however the flea market was closed on this particular Sunday.  We decided to go to a park instead.

The short ride to Frederiksberg Park was beautiful and since we had been around that area the night before, we somewhat knew what direction we were headed.  This park is breathtaking.  I seriously don’t understand how one City can have so many beautiful places to have a picnic, or a short bike ride through.  This is the largest park I have seen in Copenhagen and it really is beautiful.  We stayed there for a better part of the afternoon, and ate the bread & dip we had been munching on from the day before.  I also had some nectarines.  YUMJ  We walked around a little bit after relaxing in the shade, and realized that the park bumps up to the Copenhagen Zoo!  Right to the elephant cage!  I got to see 3 elephants today and they just looked so happy and phant-tastic!  I then biked over to Christiania to enjoy the free concert at 6, and was greeted with some of the best experiences!

 

I met up with my friend Ina from Germany and we sat on the hill listening to the first live band.  She was an okay singer, so we decided to walk around (Christiania is actually a pretty good size place, and the houses and waterfront there are breathtakingly gorgeous.  We walked, and we came to this little bridge (which is important in my story later) we sat down by the water and just talked about the differences we’ve had from being American and German.  Now I love to people watch, and this couple came and sat down by the waters edge on a blanket and I soon realized that they were meditating.  Just right there in the sunset, amongst everyone enjoying nature and the moment they were in.  It was beautiful.  This man proceeds to take out this instrument which I find out later is a didgeridoo!  Something from Australia originally.  He plays this strange instrument so beautifully I am sitting on my rock mystified.  He plays for a little while longer and then has his picnic dinner.  I start talking with Ina again and soon realize that I have to take this moment.  I go up to this man and ask him if he would be willing to play again, since the first time was so beautiful.  He then tells me that he is not as good as his girlfriend, and directs me to the girl sitting beside him.  I introduce myself to her and she invites me to sit down on the blanket with her, and shows me how to play this didgeridoo.  It is so simple!  She offers for me to try and I practically spit into this thing but manage to mimic the sound she made pretty well.   She says im a natural and lets me keep playing on the thing.  I really wanted to hear her play however, so I soon handed it back to her.  She was really good, actually extremely good.  It was the most beautiful music I have heard in a while.  Very well played.  I thanked them for sharing their time with me, and went back to Ina so we could walk back to our bikes together (it was getting past 8 at this point). 

 

We start crossing over the bridge and as I gaze out over the water (which has been decorated with some form of art, a teacup set, a sculpture of the little mermaid, and another piece farther away) I realize there are locks locked to different parts of the bridge.  The only reason I know why this is so special is because my friend Jessica (who is also doing a 2 year Master’s program here) told me the story of how her and her boyfriend showed their commitment to each other.  Instead of a ring, or the promise of marriage, Danes commit there love to one another in a different way.  They go to a bridge (I think there are a couple of these bridges throughout Denmark) find a beautiful spot and lock the lock to the bridge.  Something is usually inscribed or written on it.  They then throw the key out into the water and lock there love together.  They can then go visit the spot where they made the commitment to each other every now and then and remember the beauty of the moment.  It really is such a beautiful promise.  That was the bridge that she locked her love to, and there were numerous other locks to be found along the way.  I looked at a couple of them, and shared this story with a German lady who had overheard my conversation with Ina. 

We had to get going, as the sun was starting to go down, Ina and I parted ways and I continued on.

 I passed by a beautiful building that was painted extremely colorful and I saw that there were some postcards for sale.  As I examined them closer I realized they were postcards of his various pieces of artwork.  I bought 5 and started a conversation with the guy, whose name is Marios Orozco.  As we got to talking we somehow got on the topic of how long he had lived in Christiania for, and he said that he has lived there for the past 30 years.  He told of how it was not always this peaceful happy place (Christiania) and how in the beginning there was a lot of hatred and hard times.  We then got to talking about his painting and he invited me inside his studio (which was his house right behind him).  I was greeted by a room covered in amazing artwork, floor and walls covered with paint, and some very relaxing music, which I later discovered he helped create and produce.  I told him that I would love to come back and take pictures of some of his work, and asked if he wouldn’t mind an informal interview so I can get to know his story.  I really am fascinated with the History of Christiania and how it has turned into the place it is today.  I got his contact information and told him I would be in touch and back later that week to look over more of his works, and see what he has to say about life in Christiania and Denmark.  Amazing really, the people here.  He invited me to stay with some of his friends and have a beer and chat then, but I had already been distracted so many times trying to get home that I had to decline.  I will be back to talk with him however, and take pictures of his work so you all can see!

I started walking out of Christiania and managed to catch the tail end of the second band playing the free show.  They were actually really good so I stopped and listened to the vibes.  Primetime Massive was the band name, and I really liked the end of their set.  I listened to 3 songs, and then walked my way to the metro finally to pick up my bike.  The bike ride home wasn’t bad, and I really have started to love biking in the city. 

 Who knew I could have such an amazing experience with people here.  They are just so open and free and willing to share their story with anyone who will listen.  This was honestly one of the most amazing nights I’ve had here in Copenhagen.  I love the goodness in the people I found today.  I love the connectedness I felt to the world.  People watching is one of my favorite things to do, and I am glad I learned something from each of the people I met today.  I can’t wait to go back and semi-interview the artist.  And I can’t wait myself to get back to the waterfront and read some Kerouac novels or Bukowski poems. 

 What a great end to the most amazing day.  I loved my mantra for the day.

 Life is about the people you meet, and the things you create with them.  Go out and start creating. Life is short. Live your dream and wear your passion.

Leave a Reply

